Bad Blood

1The next day at school Cora waited at the bus stop for Jacob. Once he was off the bus, he saw her and his eyes narrowed.
“You’ve been ignoring me, and now you’re here.” His voice was filled with hurt. She did feel bad for ignoring him but she needed a clear mind over the weekend so she could give him a real answer.
“I needed to think about what you asked me. It’s not something to accept lightly at our age Jacob.”
“Did you come up with an answer?” He asked as he crossed his arms.
“I did, and there are certain conditions for my answer.” He rose an eyebrow and stayed silent. “I want to marry you Jake. That’s my answer. I need time before it happens though, it needs to be when we’re both ready for it.” He laughed and threw his arms around her, bringing her into an embrace.
“Silly girl, I already anticipated a long ass engagement. I wouldn’t expect anything less from you. Which is fine, I just wanted to show you I was ready and willing to commit to you.” She felt incredibly silly for just ghosting him while she thought about it. She pulled away and fanned herself with a giggle.
“Well now Mr. Volkov, I do expect a proper proposal with a ring.”
3“Cora, can we talk?” The voice of Wolfgang Munch came from behind her. It made her tense up and internally shudder. Jacob took a step closer to Cora, ready to intervene if needed. Cora twisted her torso and neck around to look at him. Even though she was with Jacob and happy, there would always be a part of Cora that would still feel the hurt done to her by Wolfgang.
“Honestly no. I have nothing to say to you, ever. You lost that privilege when you cheated on me. Now leave me alone.”
“Please, Cora. It’s important.” He sounded like sincere with his pleas.
“Look man, just leave her alone.” Cora faced away from Wolfgang and focused on Jacob. He had taken another step towards her.
“This doesn’t concern you Volkov. But fine,” He rolled his eyes. “Cora, I wanted to apologize for taking the crown from you. If I had known you were going to win I would have left the votes alone.”
“I knew it. I knew you had done something to the votes.” Cora narrowed her eyes and turned to fully face him. She didn’t care that it was giving him the attention he craved from her. “Why are you even telling me, knowing I can go to the principal and turn you in?”
“Because I know you won’t.” The way Wolfgang looked at Cora when he said this rubbed Jacob the wrong way, it was like he was trying to intimidate her or control her. He was about to step in and lose control, until he looked at Cora. Her eyes were wide, brows were low and in a v shape. She was beyond angry.
4You do not know me anymore. I’m not the naïve girl you abused.” She poked his chest. “I am sorry your home life is shit but stop taking it out on everyone.” She poked again. “We’re all sick of your bullying. The staff are sick of you. No one likes you. Your own mother doesn’t like you.” Cora was letting him have it, years of verbal abuse thrown back at him. Jacob was amused but was concerned for Cora — He had never seen her like this and hoped Wolfgang didn’t retaliate.
“Enough!” Wolfgang took a step backwards. His eyes narrowed and his jaw clenched. “I never once cared about being liked. And you’re right…My home life does suck. Mila is never home, so I’m left to watch Lucas. I’m just a mean person, I know this…and you know this. And you know what, at the end of it all I at least know who my dad is.” Everything happened so fast, Jacob couldn’t stop Cora’s fist from balling up. He certainly couldn’t stop that same fist from making contact with Wolfgang’s right cheek. Wolfgang was bent over, clutching his cheek and crying in pain. Cora was shaking her open hand, wincing. Cora’s eyes were dark as she looked him in pain.
“Cora what did you just do?!” Jacob’s eyes darted between the two, panic was setting in. This was unlike her.
“He knows my dad is a forbidden topic.” Cora couldn’t even process what just happened, she just knew she needed to do it. “Don’t even think about going to the principal.” She hissed at him as she walked into the school, leaving Jacob to stand there wondering what the fuck was going on.
6Cora was alone in the gym, she took this time to think about what just happened. Did she feel bad? A little bit. In all his years of bullying her, he had never once brought up her dad. That must mean whatever I said to him actually did hurt him, right? She wondered as she punched the bag. Her left hand was still sore. She looked in the mirror and saw Madeline coming up to her.
“What the hell did you do? Cora, did you really punch the weasel?”
“Yes.” She swung at the bag again. “I don’t regret it and I refuse to apologize.” Madeline crossed her arms and gave a look of worry.
“Are you feeling okay? Because you’re normally so level headed.” Cora stopped hitting the bag and took off the gloves. She looked at her left hand, the knuckles were starting to bruise.
“I honestly don’t know what’s going on Mads.”

Leave a comment