Innocent

2Cora had just gotten home from her first mock trial of the year and hadn’t had a chance to take a shower, let alone relax before there was a knock at the bedroom door.
“Cora, honey?” It was River. “Can I come in?” Cora sighed and opened the door to let her in. “I just got a weird phone call from Mila Munch…did you punch Wolfgang?” Cora couldn’t help but laugh. She held out her hand and show her mom her knuckles. Her mom gasped. There was a look of awe and horror on River’s face as she looked at the bruising.
“I did.”
“Cora! Why?” Was all River could ask.
“I don’t know, maybe all the years of abuse from him just kind of manifested. He brought up the fact that I don’t know who my dad is. Everyone knows that’s a sore subject for me.” Cora shrugged.
“Oh baby, I’m sorry. I’m so sorry I’ve kept it from you. That doesn’t give you an excuse to punch people that bring it up, however.”
“Mom, you don’t understand. This boy is bad news. He’s constantly fighting and in detention. He bullies everyone, and he’s just…not good.”
“I don’t care Cora, I want you to apologize to him. You are better than this. Do not stoop to his level, do not be the bully’s bully.” Cora understood where her mom was coming from but did not want to apologize. She would have to tell the absolute truth to get out of that, at the very least.
“Me and him dated for a year and he cheated on me and was verbally abusive. Remember when I was going through my emo phase? It was because of him. That’s why I won’t apologize to him. I will apologize to you for my behavior but that’s it.” It’s been half a day since it happened and she did feel bad for it. She just justified it as karma.
3River’s expression was unreadable. Cora had no idea what she was thinking.
“Thank you for the apology but I do have to ground you for this though because I know you’re better than this. You can keep your phone but I’m taking the chargers you have in your room. I expect you to come home directly after school, and no friends over…not even Madeline. You’ll be grounded until the bruises heal. And when you’re at school, you are to steer clear of that boy until you can control your anger.” River pursed her lips and crossed her arms. She looked around and started taking the chargers for Cora’s devices. Cora turned off her tablet and phone to preserve battery. As annoying as it was to be grounded, Cora understood and was actually thankful River was stepping up to punish her. “Does that sound fair for punishment?” River asked, unmoving. Cora nodded and looked at the ground.
“For what it’s worth, I do feel bad for it. My behavior scared me…it just kinda happened before I could stop myself.”
“Okay, thank you. That’s all I wanted to hear. I’ll leave you alone to do your homework, I love you Cora.”
“I love you too mom. Good night.” River left the room, closing the door behind her. Cora locked it and flopped onto her bed and cried. “What’s happening to me?”

Leave a comment