Everything Has Changed

1The girls sat out on the back patio after the disaster ending of the Fall Dance. “I still can’t believe that little weasel. I think Yuki had something to do with it, she was hovering around the polling booth all evening.”
“Mads, I love you, but let it go. Yes he’s a weasel but it’s in the past.” Cora knelt down to look at the drinks in the bar to see what kind of mocktail she could make the two of them. She didn’t see anything good. Just before she could ask Madeline what kind of drink she wanted, her phone vibrated a couple times. She stood and looked at the caller ID. It was Jacob.
“Aren’t you going to answer it?” Cora shook her head, she needed some time away from the heaviness of their relationship.
“No.” She left it that and quickly changed the topic. “We have nothing for mocktails, feeling up to a cocktail or two?”
“Cora McIrish, are you…suggesting we drink alcohol? And you say the weasel’s win didn’t get to you.” Cora shot her a look of pure death. “Unless something happened with Jake?” Madeline crossed her arms and raised an eyebrow. Cora was silent, she pulled some bottles and glasses from the bar and started mixing and pouring. She downed one of her glasses in nearly one gulp before she gagged.
“Jacob proposed tonight and I’m freaking out.”
“WHAT?!” Madeline set her glass back down, pure joy on her face. “That’s amazing news Cora, why are you freaking out?”
“I’m not sure I want to get married, ever. I mean…gran and mom never did, so there’s got to be reasons why they never did.”
“Honey, from what I know of your gran and mom…they were single mothers trying their best and put family over men. I envy you for that. I’ve known you our entire lives Cori, there’s something deeper going on and you’re looking for an out. The real question is why?” Cora looked at her drink and sighed. Madeline was right. She was just looking for excuses to reject Jacob’s proposal.

2“I feel like he’s hiding something from me. Something huge, but he won’t tell me anything and I just feel so…I don’t know, helpless? Because whatever it is changed him.” Madeline took a swig of her drink and set it down. She stared at the creek for a couple minutes in silence. Cora leaned against the cool metal railing and took a sip.
“Over the summer, right? Is there any way you can contact his sister to find out what’s going on? She might know.” Cora shook her head.
“Rory is pretty off the grid…from what he told me.” Cora finished the rest of her drink and poured a glass of water. “I either have to a. find out for myself, b. pry it out of him, or c. wait for him to tell me. and either way…I won’t know until this secret – whatever it is – has destroyed our relationship.”
“You could always compromise: you’ll give him your answer if he tells you what really happened over the summer.” It was tempting enough for Cora to contemplate but she couldn’t do that to him.
“That’s not fair.”
“Neither is hiding a huge life changing event from the girl you just proposed to!”
“Enough, I won’t find out by blackmailing him. He’ll have his answer…after I think about it. Which is exactly what I’ll tell him. Now, changing the topic. How’s Cass?”
“Amazing. She got accepted into Foxbury’s distinguished science program this morning. That girl’s thirst for knowledge is so hot sometimes.” Madeline smiled at the sky, silent while the breeze from the pond gently blew over her.
“I love how in love you two are.” Cora giggled and started to clean up the bar. She was feeling a slight buzz, but able to function.
“Me too. We’re hashtag-couple goals. Cora, let’s go sleep now.” Madeline on the other hand, was feeling the alcohol. Cora look at her phone, it was almost two in the morning and most definitely time for bed.

5Both girls felt miserable the next morning. “I regret nothing.” Madeline croaked before taking a giant gulp of water. She tossed the blanket off of her and leaned to throw up in the fern next to her.
“Maaads, there was a perfectly good trashcan next to you if you got u-” Cora felt dizzy and stopped talking as she closed her eyes. Madeline took another swig of water to rinse her mouth and sat back in the lounger.
“Sorry.” Madeline whispered. “Lets just stay here for a couple minutes.” Cora nodded in agreement.
“Kay.” The girls fell back asleep for another hour. “Hey Mads.” Cora looked over to her friend who was now sitting on the side of the lounger.
“What’s up? Last night was wild, I can’t believe they let us sleep out here.”
“Mom has always said she would rather me experiment with that kind of stuff under her roof where it’s safer and familiar.” Madeline nodded and looked at the ground. Cora sat up and swung her legs over the edge so she was sitting on the side of the chair facing Madeline.
“My mom said something similar, though I have a feeling my mom would join in. Which doesn’t seem very safe.” Cora reached over the gap and grabbed Madeline’s hands.
“You’re my sister Mads, you can always crash over here. Plus…we graduate this year and then we’ll be on our own at college.” Madeline sniffled and pulled a hand away to wipe her tears.
“My mom is pregnant. I feel bad for the baby, but at the same time it feels like I’m being replaced.”
“No one can replace you, you’re one of a kind.” Cora squeezed her hand and gave a reassuring smile.
“Thanks bestie.”

6“Speaking of college, I finally chose. You know how I was torn between marine biology and a vet? Weeell-” Madeline paused for dramatic effect. “I want to be a vet and open my own clinic.”
“That sounds perfect for you.” Cora, too had finally decided after thinking about it. “I think I figured it out too. I had been thinking hard about it over the week.” Madeline was right, as always. “I am pretty good at arguing and keeping a level head. So I’m going to be an attorney.” Cora had finally spoken the words aloud and it felt good.
“Look at us, eighteen and figuring our lives out. Watch out world.” The girls started laughing and continued to do so for a couple minutes.
“As for the Jacob thing, I can’t imagine a future without him and if marriage is what he wants…I’ll give it to him. But on my terms and when we’re both actually ready.” Madeline looked at Cora with concern.
“Are you feeling okay? Something seems different about you.” Cora shrugged. Something about last night had changed Cora, she felt more alive.

Leave a comment