Nothing New

1 It was almost 8 o’clock when Cora decided to take a break from her studies. Her stomach growled, she realized she hadn’t eaten in almost twelve hours. She closed her book and went to the kitchen to make something for herself. While looking in the fridge she noticed leftover pumpkin soup from earlier but wasn’t in the mood for it, instead she gathered the ingredients for a simple salad and began chopping the lettuce. Movement from outside caught her attention. She looked out the window and noticed her mom was outside painting, Cora was thankful that the weather was still nice in the evening instead of the typical autumn gloom. Muffled footsteps on the tile caught her attention now, she turned her head in the direction of the arches and saw the smiling face of her grandmother, Fiona.
“I made pumpkin soup so you didn’t need to cook anything.” Fiona tsk’d at her granddaughter, opening the fridge to show Cora. Cora nodded, putting her hand on the fridge door to close it gently.
“I know, I saw. Thank you gran.” Cora smiled and resumed chopping the ingredients. “I won’t always be here for your cooking, ya know…so I might as well get the practice in while I can.” Fiona’s eyes grew big as she looked at Cora, shocked. Fiona knew that she wouldn’t always be here for Cora, but to hear that Cora wouldn’t be around was not something she had expected.
“It sounds like you have a plan for the future?” She pried, hoping Cora would let her in like she used to. Cora shrugged and put the chopped ingredients into a bowl and mixed it together.
“It’s still undecided but…” Cora looked down at the food and sighed. “I know I want to go to university, and I want to help people by advocating for them.” She stopped mixing and grabbed a fork from the drawer. “I’m torn between something political or being an attorney. Mads thinks I would be a great attorney because I’m good at arguing.” Cora chuckled softly before taking a couple bites of her salad.
“I think that’s a wonderful ambition Cora.” Fiona was glad her granddaughter confided in her, even if it was something uncertain. “I’m always here if you want to talk, I hope you know that.” Cora nodded and thanked Fiona. “Go enjoy your food, I’ll be outside.” Cora watched as Fiona walked away, leaving Cora to contemplate over the future. Where did Jacob fit into her plans?

2 Cora and Jacob had been in a relationship for two years and still….she didn’t know where he and their relationship fit into her plans. He was supportive, of course, as was she for his future. If they were lucky, they’d get into the same university and maybe find an off campus house together with their friends. She walked outside with her school planner to look over the school year with Fiona. “Hey gran, I did want to talk to you about something personal, and maybe get some advice.” She knew she couldn’t go to her mom with this, because River was too busy with work.
“Sure thing.” Fiona took a seat at the table, “I always welcome a break from gardening.” Fiona laughed and nodded to the chair next to her. Cora sat and placed the planner on the table. She took a deep breath. Here goes nothing.
“I’m worried about where Jake fits into my plans. I love him, and I don’t want to lose him.” Cora wanted to continue with a ‘but…’ but couldn’t find the words to express her feelings about it. Plus, she knew Fiona had a hard time accepting the fact that Cora was already in such a serious relationship at this age but since River had no qualms about it Fiona kept quiet. Fiona worried that Cora would be giving up her future for Jacob, or worse Cora would have a child at a young age and wouldn’t be able to succeed at the future she wanted.
“Have you talked to him about your plans? What are his plans?” Fiona had no advice on the matter, the only thing she could offer was communication between the young lovebirds.
“I haven’t talked to him in a couple weeks, he’s been out camping with his family. Apparently his dad and sister are talking again so that’s huge news.” Cora was a little concerned there haven’t been any contact since last month, however she didn’t feel like anything was amiss and didn’t want to bother him while he was with family. “Last I knew, he was undecided on what career path he wanted. We’re still so young, it’s bizarre to think we’re expected to know what we want to do before our brains have fully developed.” Cora thumbed through the book and looked at the pages. The silence started to grow tense and awkward as Fiona shifted and leaned into the table, closer to Cora.
“Sometimes I do worry about you. You are still young and I don’t want you to throw your dreams away because of-because of a boy.” Fiona paused for a moment and took a deep breath. “Don’t be like your mother, or myself. That’s all we want. For you to have the opportunities we never had.” This sudden shift in tone caused Cora to look up from the book with discomfort. She slammed the book shut and stood up.
“I appreciate your concern, really but gran…have faith in me.” Cora hugged the book and stomped into the house, slamming the door behind her. It was a big day tomorrow: The first day of senior year, and it was already spoiled and tainted with a bad mood.

4 The next morning, she got to school early and said hello to all of her friends. It wasn’t until lunch when she did see Jacob for the first time since summer had started. He poked his head in the classroom and his eyes softened as they fell on Cora, who was looking at her nails.
“There you are. Maddi said you would be here.” His voice sounded deeper than before. He walked into the room and stood next to her desk. She looked up at him with so many different emotions: relief, hurt, sadness, and concern. He had dark bag under his eyes, and his cheeks were hollowed.
“Jake! Are you okay? You look-”
“I’m fine, promise.” He cut her off, causing her to tense up. Something was wrong and he was hiding it from her. “How was your summer?” He was now changing the topic.
“It was fine I guess. Would’ve been better with you around.” She put her head on her desk and looked out the window. She felt his hand on her back but didn’t look at him.
“I know, love. I didn’t expect the trip to be as long as it was. Rory and dad were getting along for once, and I don’t think he wanted it to stop. I wanted to come home but it was impossible. I did try, so please don’t be mad at me.” Cora sat up again and looked at Jacob with a smirk on her face.
“That’s fine, you’re mine for winter break. I’m going to be selfish this one time.”
“I wouldn’t have it any other way.” He bent down to give her a hug. They both took deep breaths, breathing in each other’s scents. “Did you want to go to the homecoming dance this year?” Normally, she hated school dances and other school functions, but after her mini-argument with Fiona last night, Cora had decided she didn’t want to miss out on any teen experiences in her final year of high school. She nodded and kissed his cheek.
“Yeah, I think I do.”

6 After school, Cora caught up with Madeline. “Mads!” The girls hugged. “Are you and Cassie going to the dance by chance?” Cora asked with a sly grin.
“We were thinking about it, why?” Madeline raised an eyebrow and crossed her arms. She knew her friend well enough to know Cora didn’t like dancing in public.
“Me and Jake are going. I know, shocking right?” Madeline nodded and mouthed ‘just a little bit.’ The girls burst out into a fit of giggles. Madeline stopped almost abruptly and sighed.
“Then…I guess we’re going too. This might actually be fun.” Madeline squealed with joy and clapped her hands together. “Sooo, spill. What changed your mind?”
“Gran, kinda. We had a talk last night and she said some things that made me a little uncomfortable. But! Her words made me think about the things young people do that I haven’t done.” Cora looked at her feet and shrugged. “I’m going to make this a very memorable year. Or at least try to.” Madeline nodded enthusiastically.
“I’m glad you’re finally coming out of your uptight little shell. Better late than never.” Cora scoffed and rolled her eyes. Just because she was going to one dance didn’t mean she was going to start slacking on her plans for the future.
“Oh don’t get me wrong, I’m still going to do all the academic things…I’ll just have fun, on the side.”
“Boooring. Speaking of boring, when’s your next mock trial?” Cora pulled the school planner from her backpack and opened to this quarter. She scanned the page looking for her next afterschool meeting.
“They don’t resume until next month. Why?” She put the planner back in the bag.
“Just wondering so we can hang out after school. I don’t start my streams until later in the evening, so that would give us plenty of time.” Cora nodded. She did miss hanging out with her best friend, between academics and Jacob it’s been hard for Cora to make the time for her friends.
“Sure, maybe tomorrow? I really should head home before gran comes looking for me.” The girls hugged and Cora headed home.

4 thoughts on “Nothing New

  1. Great start here, I agree that your writing is lovely and very descriptive! Cora seems to have good relationships with the people around her, and Fiona seems to want the best for her, so I’m curious to see what ends up happening. She’s certainly got some big decisions to make, as we all do at her age!! I’m following along now so very much looking forward to finding out what happens next. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the comment. I’m glad I was able to show the relationships Cora has. She may be an overachiever but she loves her friends and family. Fiona is a tough cookie and truly does want the best for her grandbaby.

      Like

Leave a comment